OFFICES AROUND THE WORLD

Mexico, Headquarters

Visiting address: Carretera México-Veracruz, Km. 45, El Batán, 56237, Texcoco • Postal address:
Apdo. Postal 041, C.A.P. Plaza Galerías, Col. Verónica Anzures, 11305 Ciudad de México
• Phone: +52 55 5804 2004
• Fax: +52 55 5804 7658
• Director General:
Martin Kropff (cimmyt@cgiar.org)

Afghanistan

Visiting address: Kart-e-Parwan, West of Baharistan Park, Lane #3, House #118, Kabul • Postal address: P.O. Box 5842, Kabul
• Phone: +93 202204563
• Fax: +93 202211936
• Administrative Contact:
Aminullah Sharifi (a.sharifi@cgiar.org)
• Country Representative:
Rajiv Kumar Sharma (rk.sharma@cgiar.org)

Bangladesh

Visiting address: House #10/B, Road #53 Gulshan-2, Dhaka 1212 • Postal address: P.O. Box 6057, Gulshan-1, Dhaka 1212
• Phone: +88 02 9896676, +88 02 9894278
• Fax: +88 02 9896676, +88 02 9894278 Ext. 115
• Administrative Contacts:
Raihan Sadaat (r.sadaat@cgiar.org)
Dhon Raj Lama (d.lama@cgiar.org)
• Country Representative:
Timothy J. Krupnik (t.krupnik@cgiar.org)

China

Visiting address and postal address: Chinese Academy of Agricultural Sciences (CAAS), 12 Zhongguancun South Street, Beijing 100081
• Phone: +86 10 8210 5691
• Fax: +86 10 8210 8547
• Administrative Contact:
Xin Wang (xin.wang@cgiar.org)
• Country Representative:
Zhonghu He (zhhecaas@163.com)

Colombia

Visiting address: CIAT, Km. 17 Recta Cali-Palmira • Postal address: C.P. 763537 A.A. 6713 Palmira, Valle del Cauca
• Phone: +57 2 4450025, +57 2 4450095
• Fax: +57 2 4450000 ext. 3025
• Administrative Contact:
Janeth Bolaños (janeth.bolanos@cgiar.org)
• Country Representative:
Bram Govaerts (b.govaerts@cgiar.org) 

Ethiopia

Visiting address: ILRI Sholla Campus, CMC Road, Addis Ababa • Postal address: c/o ILRI/CIMMYT, P.O. Box 5689, Addis Ababa
• Phone: +251 11 6462324,
+251 11 6462326, +251 11 6462327,
+251 11 6172000
• Fax: +251 11 6676923, +251 116172001
• Administrative Contact:
Tadele Asfaw (t.asfaw@cgiar.org)
• Country Representative:
Bekele Abeyo (b.abeyo@cgiar.org)

India

Visiting address and postal address: G2, B Block, National Agricultural Science Centre Complex (NASC), Dev Prakash Shastri Marg, New Delhi, 110012
• Phone: +91 11 25842940
• Fax: +91 11 25842938
• Administrative Contact:
Meenakshi Chandiramani (m.chandiramani@cgiar.org)
• Country Representative:
Arun Kumar Joshi (a.k.joshi@cgiar.org)

Kazakhstan

Visiting address: Office #207, House 10, B. Maylin Str., Astana 010000 • Postal address: P.O. Box 9, Astana, 010000
• Phone: +7 7172 343713
• Fax: +7 7172 343713
• Administrative Contact: Zhanar Askarova
(cimmyt-kazakhstan@cgiar.org)
• Country Representative:
Muratbek Karabayev (m.karabayev@cgiar.org)

Kenya

Visiting address: ICRAF House, United Nations Avenue, Gigiri, Nairobi
• Postal address: P.O. Box 1041-00621, Village Market, Nairobi
• Phone: +254 20 722 4600
• Fax: +254 20 722 4601
• Administrative Contact:
Esther Mbaka (e.mbaka@cgiar.org)
• Country Representative:
Stephen Mugo (s.mugo@cgiar.org)

Nepal

Visiting address: Agric. Botany Division-1st floor, NARC Research Station, Khumaltar, Lalitpur • Postal address: P.O. Box no. 5186, Kathmandu
• Phone: +977 155 25490
• Administrative Contact:
Binaya Parajuli (b.parajuli@cgiar.org)
• Country Representative:
Peter Craufurd (p.craufurd@cgiar.org)

Pakistan

Visiting address and postal address: CSI Complex NARC, Park Road, Islamabad
• Phone: +92 51 9255522-24
• Fax: +92 51 9255434
• Administrative Contact:
Awais Yaqub (a.yaqub@cgiar.org)
• Country Representative:
Muhammad Imtiaz (m.imtiaz@cgiar.org)

Turkey

Visiting address: Gayret Mahallesi Sehit Cem Ersever Caddesi 9/11, Tarla Bitkileri Arastirma Enstitusu 06170, Yenimahalle, Ankara • Postal address: P.K. 39 06511, Emek/Ankara
• Phone: +90 312 344 8777, +90 312 344 8327, +90 312 344 1631,
+90 312 344 1327, +90 312 344 1657
• Fax: +90 312 327 0798
• Administrative Contact:
Oytun Sezer (o.sezer@cgiar.org)
• Country Representative:
Abdelfattah Dababat (a.dababat@cgiar.org)

Zimbabwe

Visiting adress: 12.5 KM Peg, Mazowe Road, Mount Pleasant, Harare
• Postal address: P.O. Box MP163, Harare,
• Phone: +263 772 469 211, +263 772 469 212
• Administrative Contact:
Tawanda Mushandu (t.mushandu@cgiar.org)
• Country Representative: Cosmos
Magorokosho (c.magorokosho@cgiar.org)

© 2020 International Maize and Wheat Improvement Center
We would like to thank all funders who supported this research through their contributions to the CGIAR Trust Fund.

| | |

CREDITS

Editors-in-chief
Rodrigo Ordóñez, Geneviève Renard
Project coordination
Alison Doody, Emma Orchardson
Art directors
Clyde R. Beaver III, Alfonso Cortés, Nancy Valtierra
Layout and design
Nancy Valtierra
Web development
Ricardo López
Graphics and illustrations
Ángel Eduardo Aguilar, Clyde R. Beaver III, Alfonso Cortés, Marcelo Ortiz, Eliot Sánchez,
Nancy Valtierra
Writers and editors
Ricardo Curiel, Leslie Domínguez, Mary Donovan, Alison Doody, Jennifer Johnson, G. Michael Listman, Marcia MacNeil, Marta Millere, Matthew O’Leary, Emma Orchardson, Samuel Storr
Contributors
Ricardo Ampudia, Lone Badstue, Hans Braun, Johanna Braun, José Juan Caballero Flores, Denise Costich, Susanne Dreisigacker, Andrea Gardeazabal Monsalue, Elias Garcia, Bram Govaerts, Filippo Guzzon, Jesús Herrera, M.L. Jat, Victor Kommerell, Timothy J. Krupnik, Jean-Flavien Le Besque, Joshua Masinde, Terence Molnar, Dina Najjar, Natalia Palacios, Thomas Payne, Kevin Pixley, B.M. Prasanna, Michael Quinn, Rajiv Kumar Sharma, H.S. Sidhu, José Luis Torres, Martha Wilcox, MAIZE Independent Steering Committee (ISC), WHEAT Independent Steering Committee (ISC)
Photography
Alfonso Cortés, Georg Goergen/IITA, Uttam Kumar, Peter Lowe, Johnson Siamachira, Love Kumar Singh/BISA, Sam Storr, CIMMYT Archives
ISSN#
0188-9214
Correct citation
CIMMYT. 2020. Seeds of change. CIMMYT Annual Report 2019. CDMX, Mexico: CIMMYT.
AGROVOC descriptors:
Maize; Wheat; Plant breeding; Genetic resources; Innovation adoption; Plant biotechnology; Seed production; Food security; Sustainability; Research policies; Economic analysis; Cropping systems; Agricultural research; Organization of research; Developing countries. Additional Keywords: CIMMYT. AGRIS category codes: A50 Agricultural Research; A01 Agriculture– General Aspects. Dewey decimal classification: 630

© International Maize and Wheat Improvement Center (CIMMYT), 2020. All rights reserved. The designations employed in the presentation of materials in this publication do not imply the expression of any opinion whatsoever on the part of CIMMYT or its contributory organizations concerning the legal status of any country, territory, city, or area, or of its authorities, or concerning the delimitation of its frontiers or boundaries. CIMMYT encourages fair use of this material. Proper citation is requested.

ACRONYMS

ACIAR
Australian Centre for International Agricultural Research
AGROSAVIA
Colombian Agricultural Research Corporation (Corporación Colombiana de Investigación Agropecuaria)
ATA
Agricultural Transformation Agency
BISA
Borlaug Institute in South Asia
BrAPI
Breeding Advanced Programming Interface
CCAFS
CGIAR Research Program on Climate Change, Agriculture, and Food Security
CIAT
International Center for Tropical Agriculture
CIMMYT
International Maize and Wheat Improvement Center
CRP
CGIAR Research Program
CSISA
Cereal Systems Initiative for South Asia
CSSRI
Central Soil Salinity Research Institute
EIAR
Ethiopian Institute of Agricultural Research
EiB
CGIAR Excellence in Breeding Platform
FACASI
Farm Mechanization and Conservation Agriculture for Sustainable Intensification
FAO
Food and Agricultural Organization of the United Nations
ICAR
Indian Council of Agricultural Research
ICARDA
International Center for Agricultural Research in the Dry Areas
IFPRI
International Food Policy Research Institute
IIASA
International Institute for Applied Systems Analysis
IITA
International Institute for Tropical Agriculture
INIFAP
Mexico's National Forestry, Crops and Livestock Research Institute (Instituto Nacional de Investigaciones Forestales, Agrícolas y Pecuarias)
IRRI
International Rice Research Institute
MAIZE
CGIAR Research Program on Maize
MENA
Middle East and North Africa
MDGs
Millennium Development Goals
ODK
Open Data Kit
OPV
Open-pollinated variety
PET
Polyethylene terephthalate
PIM
CGIAR Research Program on Policies, Institutions, and Markets
R&D
Research and Development
SADER
Mexico's Secretariat of Agriculture and Rural Development (Secretaría de Agricultura y Desarrollo Rural)
SDGs
Sustainable Development Goals
SDSN
Sustainable Development Solutions Network
SMS
Straw Management System
STMA
Stress Tolerant Maize for Africa
TReNDS
Thematic Research Network on Data and Statistics
UN
United Nations
USAID
United States Agency for International Development
WHEAT
CGIAR Research Program on Wheat

Sustainable Development Goals

On September 24, 2013, the newly formed United Nations (UN) High-level Political Forum on Sustainable Development held its first meeting. At the Rio+20 Conference, Member States also agreed to launch a process to develop a set of Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs), which were to build upon the Millennium Development Goals (MDGs) that were established in 2000 and expired in 2015.

Of the 17 individual goals, 10 relate directly to CGIAR activities and to CIMMYT’s mandate. The SDGs have set the pathway for the next 15 years of agricultural, social, and economic development. Likewise, CGIAR has transformed its approach to ensure that its work aligns with the ambitious goals.

CIMMYT, through its research for development activities, is working toward a world free of poverty, hunger, and environmental degradation. CIMMYT and CGIAR efforts help bring the world closer to reaching the goals, such as the empowerment of women, the reduction of greenhouse gas emissions, and the improvement of health and nutrition for the world’s poorest people.

CIMMYT’s work contributes to the following SDGs:

About CIMMYT

CIMMYT — the International Maize and Wheat Improvement Center — is the global leader in publicly-funded maize and wheat research and related farming systems. Headquartered near Mexico City, CIMMYT works with hundreds of partners throughout the developing world to sustainably increase the productivity of maize and wheat cropping systems, thus improving global food security and reducing poverty. CIMMYT is a member of the CGIAR System and leads the CGIAR Research Programs on Maize and Wheat and the Excellence in Breeding Platform. The Center receives support from national governments, foundations, development banks and other public and private agencies.

For more information, visit www.cimmyt.org.